05
Nov
07

beggers can’t be choosers

my wife and i are notorious for helping lowbies in need.  this goes not only for guild members, but just about anyone.  we have soft hearts and love to help people out.  so normally out wow days (when we are not raiding) consists of maybe doing one instance we need or a little bit of farming, but the majority of our time finds us back in azeroth reliving the times of old.  this is done by helping a poor lvl 13 run dm for the phat lootz they always wanted, or killing those blasted kurzens in stv (they must be a glutton for punishment).

normally when doing “good deeds”  we normally put the looting on FFA and let them go to town on all the goodies.  however, every once in a while we might ask for something for an alt of ours (only if the person we are helping is not looking for that item).  most people have no problem with it, but there are a few that persist that even though they begged me to help them that they run the show.  not to long ago i was running a mage through deadmines and asked them if it were ok if i got the defias belt if it dropped (i have a lowbie rogue that i’m trying to get the defias set for).  being a mage i figured this would be no problem, but how wrong was i.  apparently they needed all lootz because they needed the money.  i was appalled by this, but i didn’t say a word.  i ran him through and then left party immediately.

the question i have is, was i in the wrong?  should u have pulled some mobs, waited for them to hit them once and then FD’ed?   how do you deal with those who think they are there to help you?

5 Responses to “beggers can’t be choosers”


  1. November 5, 2007 at 6:49 pm

    Wait wait wait wait. Lemme get this straight. Yer runnin’ some lowbie (what ain’t in yer guild or a friend or nuthin’) through an instance outta the goodness of yer heart so he can get some nice BoP’s, and the little bugger insists on taking all the loot so’s he can sell it? Screw that. You’ve gone from being nice to being his bitch.

    I wouldn’t’a deliberately killed him over it, but I would’ve explained him the facts of life. That those nice murlocs at the coast have his money and he needs go ask them for it. Alone. Then I’d’ve hearthed outta there.

  2. November 5, 2007 at 6:56 pm

    Yeah… I’m gonna have to go with Ratshag on this one: I would’ve dropped him ASAP. But then again, I’m not super-social in WoW, so I wouldn’t have gotten into that situation in the first place, and I have to applaud you and your wife for helping lowbies.

  3. 3 klaki
    November 5, 2007 at 8:22 pm

    i totally agree. i have been told one to many times that i am too nice to people. i have been rude to some people after such events, but then it turns into a flame war as most young people that play like to spout words and comments that they wouldn’t say to their mothers. so, i normally try not to get in those situations because when i get ticked, i say things that i don’t need to be saying. i’ve been reported a time or two 🙂

  4. November 5, 2007 at 11:51 pm

    Confession incoming…..

    I have done something along these lines. I also enjoy running lowbie instances just for fun and every now and then will let a lowbie join me. There are times when I get a turd that really bugs the crap out of me. I usually just grin and bear it and then move on with my life. I politely tell them that it was the last time I would ever be helping them as their behavior was horrible. I explain what they did wrong and the social injustice that their mere continued existence is and move on…

    However, there was this one time where… perhaps I was in a bad mood to begin with… Not sure…. There was this one time where this lowbie warrior wanted to rush things and beat them then shout at me for heals or help when things went south. When I play my paladin and do these runs I have rules. Let me pull an entire Dead Mines “area” before you move. Let me gather them all up then you may assist in the beating. I usually say everything but the cloth, ore, and any BOP blues that drop are theirs. This guy hits some of my ore spots too and claims that I get no skill so I should let him. I grate my teeth, remind him the rules and we continue.

    It finally comes to a point where he dies and he blames me for “lack of heals.” I tell him it was his fault and res him when I am done. As soon as we get in the next area I pull everything on the dock… then bubble hearth….. It felt great, and he is now at home on my /ignore….

  5. 5 klaki
    November 6, 2007 at 2:07 pm

    lol, that is great. i am going to make another post about what makes a n00b a n00b, and this sir is a prime example. thx for sharing 🙂


Leave a Reply

