16
Jan
08

rules of engagement

now my friends dammy and wulfa are on a pvp server. in their blogs they were discussing their rules for attacking alliance in their constant pvp battle for azeroth. in responding to one of their posts, i thought it would be a great idea for me to post my thoughts on the subject.

i always wanted to play on a pvp server, but when i started wow, i joined with some RL friends on a pve server. ever since then i have been on there mostly. however, if i was on a pvp server, there is only one rule i would go by:

  1. kill or be killed

in a war, there is no room for good guys.  i, in general, am a very kind and generous person.  i help tons of people everyday, even horde at times.  however, if i was on a pvp, especially a rp-pvp, i would show no mercy for my enemies.  if they are 15 lvls below me and they cross my path, they are visiting the spirit healer compliments of me.  now, i won’t go out of the way to gank lowbies, but i might go kill the guardians that go and protect these lowbies. 🙂  another thing i won’t do is corpse camping.  that is the most annoying and immature thing ever.  its like ok, you can kill me, why do it over and over.  i’m a one and done kinda guy.  i know it’s cheap to kill lower lvl people, or people who are not ready but if you don’t kill them, then you will be regretting it later on.  now i don’t know how honor works, but if there is a limit to what level you can kill and still get honor, i might let them pass.  so what i say is that if your on a pvp or rp-pvp… play the role.

6 Responses to “rules of engagement”


  1. January 17, 2008 at 11:46 am

    Heh-I’m just not tough enough to be on a pvp server. And I would play on a PvE server BUT I like the additional excitement the possibility of being ganked brings, no matter that I complain about it. And I have an exception to my honorable way of killing the Alliance: No Rogue Left Behind (sorry, I just couldn’t help myself wording it that way).

  2. 2 klaki
    January 17, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    You’re tough enough, you’re a hunter, you just need to get into your role as a Horde. I bet the excitement of watching your every move, for you don’t know if it’s your last, is awesome. I went ahead and deleted my pally on your server (only lvl 10) and created a rogue. I figure sneaking around and SAPing allies would be real fun. I will level her slowly during lunch.

  3. January 17, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    Bah you have joined the enemy! But if you’re horde I guess that’s ok. What’s your name? I’ll add her to my friends list.

  4. 4 klaki
    January 17, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    the name is klaki. i just thought it would be cool to gank clothies and the such. i’ve already added you two on my friends list, just haven’t seen you on.

  5. January 18, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    I leveled my undead lock to 70 on a pvp server. He was my first pvp toon, about a year after I started the game, pve with a paladin. There were good times… there were bad times… there are places you just do not go unless you roll deep. STV is just evil. Hillsbrad near Tarren Mill is evil. There is always an alliance ganker sitting near Tarren Mill waiting for that 16 – 24 level horde to come running by.

    It is fun at times though, although I have now trasfered off of Magtheridon to Arathor. Having someone try to gank you and killing them instead is a blast. Having two someones do it is a riot.. and Having three try it and still walk away is amazing. It did not happen often, but when it did… wow that made my day.

    On the other hand… trying to do a quest and being ganked just sucked. Showing up early or late to MC or later Kara was just asking for trouble. When the BC patch was released and there was a questline from the same guy alliance and horde in Badlands…. that was a nightmare. On my server there were bodies everywhere. I died dozens of times until I managed to complete. Both sides were compeating trying to kill mobs coming through the gate. Control shifted between the gate and the staging area. Horde would have one and Alliance would have the other, but… to complete you needed to go into both.

  6. 6 Rahronkas
    January 18, 2008 at 8:53 pm

    You can’t play the nice guy on a PVP realm. I ran by this warrior that was only 1 level higher than me. I didn’t want to fight I was there to level. So as I go by he’s following me then boom he charges. He should have paid closer attention. My warrior is a bit tricked out as it is my alt. I turned around after the stun and commenced to beat this guy down in short time. I just critted all over him. Then I waited for a bit cause I didn’t want to be in a the middle of a fight with a mob and have this guy jump me again. A mage went by just looked at me and kept going. Then the warrior came back and just ran on by and I went about my business. I have been ganked most often by folks I have just let go by and then while I am fighting a mob they gank away. Sometimes I win sometimes I don’t. The moral of the story..just kill em cause they’ll do the same to you when they get the chance.


Leave a Reply

